San Diego Hypnotist

Advocating Mental, Physical, Emotional, Spiritual Fitness

The Secret – Oprah vs Rosie

key.jpg
I watched the View yesterday and the ladies had pretty much good things to say about The Secret, though Rosie, (and I actually like Rosie lately) kinda didn’t quite get it. Now I still haven’t seen the DVD, but being a hypnotist, I know the gist of what they are trying to say. Like attracts Like. Pretty basic.Anyway, Rosie cited the part of the movie when they apparently say look at the back of your hands, and now fold them as if you’re holding onto something with your hands, and close your eyes and imagine them wrapped around the steering wheel of the car of your dreams and you’re driving that car…Then, supposedly they show the person really driving that car, as if the car miraculously appeared in their driveway five seconds later.

She is being so unimaginatively literal, and as I’ve heard it, many of ”the secret’s” critics are doing the same thing. Like they think we expect to be answered in five minutes or something. I mean we’ve all had the experience of thinking about something – sometimes it was even years ago that we thought those things- and suddenly it’s come into our lives, seemingly from outta thin air. Sometimes we do get an answer in five minutes, sometimes it’s years away. When it’s years away it’s because we needed time to become the LIKE we are wanting to attract. James Allen, in his famous and powerful book, As a Man Thinketh, says “Man does not attract to himself that which he wants, but rather that which he is. And what he is are the things he spends his time dwelling upon.”

As you may or may not know, I go to the hospital monthly for 5-hour long IVIG infusions. I went yesterday and was talking to a darling girl who had within the past year been diagnosed with Leukemia, and a lung condition. She had a bone marrow transplant, and lung surgery, and currently has to get infusions on a daily basis. She quit work, and has spent much of this year in the hospital. She told me, “It’s kind of funny but I remember last year I was really stressed out – working fulltime, taking care of my young family, we had just bought a new home, and I was saying over and over to myself, I need a long break, where I can just stay in bed, and rest…Now look at me. My wish has come true, you could say. Be careful what you wish for!”

Now how many of us have had the same sort of wish-fulfillment – and of course it could be a positive result. I can remember when I was a small child and I’d swing a crystal in front of my little brother’s face and say, “you’re getting sleepy…” I always loved the idea of being a hypnotist. Funny thing is the idea to become a hypnotherapist came from the SUBCONCIOUS, because consciously I would’ve never guessed I would choose this career path. I mean, when I chose to leave my trustworthy social services job to open my hypnotist’s office it came as a sudden opportunity – seemingly from outta nowhere. At the time (1998) I was talking to my dear hypnotherapy instructor ( I had taken the course in 1994) and he said, “Julie (a mutual friend) wants to open a Hypnosis Center, but she wants a partner. Do you know anyone who might be interested?” I knew I did know of someone – I was certain of it, but it just wouldn’t come to me. It was that feeling on the tip of your tongue that I knew the perfect person for her. One day as I was driving down the freeway pondering this very solution, it came to me as an AHA! moment – ME! Why not me??? I was deliriously happy and shocked. What took me so long? Anyway, the rest is history, as I sit in my Hypnotist chair writing this. I’ve never been happier.

But the key is Being the LIKE that you want to attract – how many times do I have to say that, people! And the key to THAT is becoming the LIKE if you aren’t right now. It doesn’t have to be years. In my next blog I will illustrate what I mean by that exact thing – becoming the LIKE. Got to close down blog shop now, clients coming in.

Luv, Gina

http://www.EnterHypnosis.com

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

