San Diego Hypnotist

Advocating Mental, Physical, Emotional, Spiritual Fitness

Tips For Staying On the Road to Permanent Weight Loss

protein-shake.jpg
Mood: ReflectiveListening to: Loreena McKennitt – Live in Paris and Toronto, Disc one

So here we are, it’s the start of a new year, and we’re all brimming with self-promises to live our lives with more self-respect, more self-confidence, more self-satisfaction than years past. I am no different. Over the holidays – basically since September – I’ve put on 10 pounds. What happened in September is I caught a nasty, life-threatening jacuzzi bacterial infection. I was on big-daddy antibiotics, and rest and recuperation through November. Because I was so sick, I vacationed from the gym, and basically became very sedentary. That didn’t help, and to worsen matters, three words: Thanksgiving, Xmas, New Years. Over the past couple of weeks I’ve lost a couple of the pounds I’d put on, and starting today, I’m getting back to my workout regimen. I should be back to my pre-sedentary weight by February 10. Yes, 2007.

Remember, EXERCISE is the 2nd most crucial component to keeping the weight off. Okay, because I know you’re wondering about the other crucial components, I’ll tell you, from personal experience, what they are.

Number one: Changing Your Mind. In my world that means using hypnosis to De-hypnotize your mind from the old ways of interacting with food. It’s crucial to reprogram your mind with new, positive ways of – not just eating – but thinking of food. By reprogramming your mind you’ll stop going back to bad habits. Okay, so you’re saying, ”but you gained 10 pounds.” Well, there are various factors at work in my body. First of all, I’ve lost 200 pounds, and here is the bad news for me…you can lose the weight, but the fat cells don’t go away. They sit there waiting like evil, thirsty little sponges for the slightest opportunity to soak up fat. For the rest of my life I will be someone who gains weight more readily than someone who doesn’t have those extra fat cells just waiting. One positive is that five years ago I could’ve gained 10 pounds and it would’ve just served to depress me, and I’d gain another 10 and another 10 until I finally started a new diet. Nowadays, I get back on track easier and faster. I know I could never get the 200 lost back again. It’s not who I am anymore. Thank God. The two pounds I’ve already lost is simply due to letting go of the holiday eating. My new normal eating habits – January through October – are pretty good. But I do let myself indulge over the holidays.

Number two: Exercise. I have to get back to the gym. I love it once I fit it back into my daily routine. Also, because of my recent health issues, I have to start out slow, and work it up. Today, I’ll do about 10 minutes on the ball, 15 minutes on weights, and 10 minutes on the stationary bike. Tomorrow, and for a week, I’ll stick to that level. It won’t tax me, I’m not apt to get hurt or overdo it, and it’ll be so refreshing that I’ll probably look forward to doing more tomorrow. To me, that’s the most important thing – Wanting to do it again tomorrow. Because if I can keep working out regularly for the next 21 days, I’ll have developed a very good habit.

Number three: Good nutrition. About the second week of January I went back to my normally good eating habits – that is, getting my protein, fiber, veggies. Here is an average day’s meals for me:

Breakfast: protein shake, with flax seed, and frozen blueberries, and coffee or carb free Monster Energy drink. Snack: Tangerine, or nuts and raisins. Lunch: baked Salmon, steamed Basmati rice, salad. Dinner: stir fry veggies with chicken. Sometimes for a snack I’ll have another protein shake. Low carb and high protein. I use whey, but they say egg white protein is the best. Expensive though.

Number four – Hydration. Got to get the water in – 8 -10 glasses. Herbal teas are good. Hot or cold. I make fresh lemonade with splenda – yummy. Adding the juice of a lemon is a good way to alkalize the system, which is a boost to health.

Okay guys, let’s get back on track! Looking forward to feeling the weight melt off again!

Luv, Gina

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

